The Random Batch: November

Did you all have a good halloween? Got plenty of sweets, I hope? Ready for a dose of music picked at random? Of course you are. I didn’t have to press the SKIP button once this month. That was refreshing.

I am having a bit of trouble with the blog overall. WordPress has a feature that tells you how many spam comments have been blocked. So far, the spam blocker hasn’t failed. Right now, the number of blocked spam comments is 25. Which wouldn’t normally be a problem, except that the number of legitimate comments is only 29. So give it a month or two, and I’ll have more comments trying to sell me stuff, than comments from people who actually read this stuff.

Okay, I’m done with this month’s personal rant. Here’s 5 nonpersonal rants:

1. Three Little Girls – J. J. Cale & Eric Clapton

This song is so sweet, it’s almost painful. I do some of my own guitar playing, and I am awful at the fingerpicking style used here. I really need to get better at that.

2. Desperado – The Eagles

Did anybody here watch Seinfeld back in the day? Does anyone here watch Seinfeld reruns on a semi-regular basis? Do you remember that episode where Elaine dated a guy who was obsessed with this song, and would make everyone stop talking when it came on the radio?

That’s cool, I don’t either. Besides this one scene with Elaine and the guy in a car, I can’t remember anything else about that episode.

3. Keep The Customer Satisfied – Simon & Garfunkel

I watched Simon & Garfunkel on TV one time. Well, Netflix, because who watches regular TV anymore? Anyway, Paul Simon seemed just a little bit bored, strumming his guitar and singing his part of “Bridge Over Troubled Water” with a pretty blank face. Art Garfunkel, on the other hand, was squinting his eyes, lolling his head a bit, and almost screaming the lyrics. They were standing so close together, you couldn’t help but notice the difference.

4. Ocean Dreams – C.G. Ryche

No YouTube link exists for this song (at the time I’m writing this, that is). Seriously, not even a crappy anime montage. If you want to hear it, you can visit C.G. Ryche’s Myspace page, where it’s streaming (again, at the time of this writing).

Pretty interesting stuff, huh?

5. Loose Ends – Rosie Thomas

This song seems kind of like a feminine version of Fatboy Slim’s That Old Pair Of Jeans. It’s not really the song style that makes me think that, just the clothing metaphors.

Back to Home page

2 Comments

Filed under Music

2 responses to “The Random Batch: November

  1. David Evans

    Listening to Ocean Dreams. Nice.

    And, well, I think it’s illegal to dislike the Eagles, isn’t it?

Have something to add?